Preschool Books

Stella’s Stellar Hair

Stella’s Stellar Hair

Publisher Description Black girl magic takes the solar system in Stella's Stellar Hair, a celebration of hair, family, and self-love from debut author-illustrator Yesenia Moises! It’s the day of the Big Star Little Gala, and Stella's hair just isn't acting right!...

Freedom Soup

Freedom Soup

Publisher Description Join the celebration in the kitchen as a family makes their traditional New Year’s soup — and shares the story of how Haitian independence came to be. The shake-shake of maracas vibrates down to my toes. Ti Gran’s feet tap-tap to the rhythm....

Sumo Joe

Sumo Joe

Publisher Description In this sweet and funny story, Sumo Joe and his friends enjoy pretending to be sumo wrestlers. But when his little sister wants to join their boy-only game, what should Sumo Joe do? On Saturday mornings, Sumo Joe is a gentle big brother to his...

I Am Smart, I Am Blessed, I Can Do Anything!

I Am Smart, I Am Blessed, I Can Do Anything!

Publisher Description Based on a viral video comes the story of one boy’s positive energy and how a sunny outlook can turn everything around. It’s a new day and Ayaan has woken up on the wrong side of the bed, where nothing feels quite right. What if he doesn’t know...

I Am Every Good Thing

I Am Every Good Thing

Publisher Description Winner of the NCTE Charlotte Huck Award! An upbeat, empowering, important picture book from the team that created the award-winning Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut I am a nonstop ball of energy. Powerful and full of light. I am a go-getter. A...

Red Shoes

Red Shoes

Publisher Description Red shoes glowing-- Perched on a pedestal in the shop window as if on a throne. "I want those, Nana," Malika says, as they pass the shop. "We'll see," Nana says with a wink. "Looks like you could use a new pair." Malika is delighted when Nana...

Thanking the Moon

Thanking the Moon

Publisher Description This simple, young, and satisfying story follows a Chinese American family as they celebrate the Mid-Autumn Moon Festival. Each member of the family lends a hand as they prepare a moonlit picnic with mooncakes, pomelos, cups of tea, and colorful...

A Big Mooncake for Little Star

A Big Mooncake for Little Star

Publisher Description A gorgeous picture book that tells a whimsical origin story of the phases of the moon, from award-winning, bestselling author-illustrator Grace Lin Pat, pat, pat… Little Star’s soft feet tiptoed to the Big Mooncake. Little Star loves the...

FRY BREAD: A Native American Family Story

FRY BREAD: A Native American Family Story

Publisher Description Winner of the 2020 Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal A 2020 American Indian Youth Literature Picture Book Honor Winner “A wonderful and sweet book . . . Lovely stuff.” —The New York Times Book Review Told in lively and powerful verse by...

Brown Sugar Babe

Brown Sugar Babe

Publisher Description Brown is beautiful. Brown is powerful! “This is the book I want to give to my future daughter.” —Black Nerd Problems Perfect for fans of Hair Love and Antiracist Baby, this lyrically written, stunningly illustrated picture book is a love letter...

Young, Gifted, and Black

Young, Gifted, and Black

Publisher Description "There are so many things I am and can be... There's a whole world waiting for me."  Introduce your baby to Black excellence with this lyrical board-book edition of Young, Gifted and Black. Includes a mirror at the back so young dreamers can see...

Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice

Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice

Publisher Description Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants who would grow up to be the first woman, first Black person, and first South Asian American ever elected Vice President of the United States in this moving picture book biography of...

My Baby Loves Halloween

My Baby Loves Halloween

Publisher Description The perfect Halloween gift for your baby or toddler!  With My Baby Loves Halloween, celebrate all the lovely things that Baby discovers about Halloween: Baby loves the crisp autumn air.  Baby loves candles in pumpkins that grin.  Baby loves...

My Baby Loves Christmas

My Baby Loves Christmas

Publisher Description In the My Baby Loves Christmas board book, celebrate all the lovely things that baby discovers about Christmas. Baby loves candy canes wrapped in bows. Baby loves jingle bells. Baby loves snow. . . . Celebrate all the lovely things that Baby...

My Baby Loves Valentine’s Day

My Baby Loves Valentine’s Day

Publisher Description The perfect Valentine's gift for your baby or toddler!  In My Baby Loves Valentine's Day, celebrate all the lovely things that Baby discovers about Valentines Day: Baby loves hearts made of paper and lace.  Baby loves kisses and a loving embrace....

I Got The Christmas Spirit

I Got The Christmas Spirit

Publisher Description In the same feel-good style of I Got the Rhythm, this exuberant picture book explores the joys of the holiday season, once again illustrated by award-winning artist Frank Morrison. It's the most wonderful time of the year, and a mother and...

A Night Out With Mama

A Night Out With Mama

Publisher Description From Academy Award–nominated actress Quvenzhané Wallis comes a story about glitz, glamour, and the most important thing of all—family. A very talented little girl has a very special night ahead of her. A night where she’ll get to wear a new dress...

The Nutcracker in Harlem

The Nutcracker in Harlem

Publisher Description A Bank Street College of Education Best Children's Book of the Year! This jazz-inspired reinvention of The Nutcracker is a worthy tribute to the dreamlike wonder and magic of the Christmas season. In this original retelling, set in New York City...

Life Doesn’t Frighten Me

Life Doesn’t Frighten Me

Publisher Description Maya Angelou’s unforgettable poem is matched with the daring art of Jean-Michel Basquiat in this powerful ode to courage Shadows on the wall Noises down the hall Life doesn't frighten me at all Maya Angelou's brave, defiant poem celebrates the...

Hair Love

Hair Love

Publisher Description “I love that Hair Love is highlighting the relationship between a Black father and daughter. Matthew leads the ranks of new creatives who are telling unique stories of the Black experience. We need this.” – Jordan Peele, Actor & Filmmaker...

Mae Among the Stars

Mae Among the Stars

Publisher Description A beautiful picture book for sharing and marking special occasions such as graduation, inspired by the life of the first African American woman to travel in space, Mae Jemison. An Amazon Best Book of the Month! A great classroom and bedtime...

I Am Loved: A Poetry Collection

I Am Loved: A Poetry Collection

Publisher Description Newbery Award honoree Ashley Bryan has hand-selected a dozen of National Book Award winner Nikki Giovanni’s poems to illustrate with his inimitable flourish. There is nothing more important to a child than to feel loved, and this gorgeous...