Mystery

Ikenga

Ikenga

Publisher Description Nnedi Okorafor’s acclaimed first novel for middle grade readers introduces a boy who can access super powers with the help of the magical Ikenga. Nnamdi’s father was a good chief of police, perhaps the best Kalaria had ever had. He was determined...

Maya and the Rising Dark

Maya and the Rising Dark

Publisher Description In this highly anticipated contemporary fantasy, twelve-year-old Maya’s search for her missing father puts her at the center of a battle between our world, the Orishas, and the mysterious and sinister Dark world. Perfect for fans of Aru Shah and...

The Jumbie God’s Revenge

The Jumbie God’s Revenge

Publisher Description In book three of the popular Jumbies series, Corinne must use her emerging supernatural powers to battle the angry god who would destroy her Caribbean island home. When an out-of-season hurricane sweeps through Corinne’s seaside village, Corinne...

Rise of the Jumbies

Rise of the Jumbies

Publisher Description Corinne LaMer defeated the wicked jumbie Severine months ago, but things haven’t exactly gone back to normal in her Caribbean island home. Everyone knows Corinne is half-jumbie, and many of her neighbors treat her with mistrust. When local...

The Jumbies

The Jumbies

Publisher Description Corinne La Mer claims she isn't afraid of anything. Not scorpions, not the boys who tease her, and certainly not jumbies. She knows that jumbies are make-believe characters from Haitian folklore, just something parents use as a way to scare their...

Amari and the Night Brothers

Amari and the Night Brothers

Publisher Description Artemis Fowl meets Men in Black in this exhilarating debut middle grade fantasy, the first in a trilogy filled with #blackgirlmagic. Perfect for fans of Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky, the Percy Jackson series, and Nevermoor. Amari...

Jada Sly, Artist & Spy

Jada Sly, Artist & Spy

Publisher Description Jada Sly, a hilarious and spunky artist and spy, explores New York City on a mission to find her mom in this “fast paced, fun” illustrated novel from an acclaimed author (School Library Connection). Ten-year-old Jada Sly is an artist and a...