Middle School Books

Root Magic

Root Magic

Publisher Description “A poignant, necessary entry into the children’s literary canon, Root Magic brings to life the history and culture of Gullah people while highlighting the timeless plight of Black Americans. Add in a fun, magical adventure and you get everything...

Once Upon An Eid

Once Upon An Eid

Publisher Description A joyous short story collection by and about Muslims, edited by New York Times bestselling author Aisha Saeed and Morris finalist S. K. Ali Once Upon an Eid is a collection of short stories that showcases the most brilliant Muslim voices writing...

Isaiah Dunn Is My Hero

Isaiah Dunn Is My Hero

Publisher Description A coming-of-age tale about a boy who discovers a love of poetry after finding his late father’s journal. Adapted from a story that first appeared in Flying Lessons & Other Stories and perfect for fans of The Parker Inheritance by Varian...

Ikenga

Ikenga

Publisher Description Nnedi Okorafor’s acclaimed first novel for middle grade readers introduces a boy who can access super powers with the help of the magical Ikenga. Nnamdi’s father was a good chief of police, perhaps the best Kalaria had ever had. He was determined...

Maya and the Rising Dark

Maya and the Rising Dark

Publisher Description In this highly anticipated contemporary fantasy, twelve-year-old Maya’s search for her missing father puts her at the center of a battle between our world, the Orishas, and the mysterious and sinister Dark world. Perfect for fans of Aru Shah and...

The Owls Have Come to Take Us Away

The Owls Have Come to Take Us Away

Publisher Description In this delightfully creepy novel from Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Award winner Ronald L. Smith, twelve-year-old Simon thinks he was abducted by aliens. But is it real, or just his overactive imagination? Perfect for fans of Mary...

Hoodoo

Hoodoo

Publisher Description Twelve-year-old Hoodoo Hatcher was born into a family with a rich tradition of practicing folk magic: hoodoo, as most people call it. But even though his name is Hoodoo, he can't seem to cast a simple spell. Then a mysterious man called the...

The Mesmerist

The Mesmerist

Publisher Description Thirteen-year-old Jessamine Grace and her mother make a living as sham spiritualists—until they discover that Jess is a mesmerist and that she really can talk to the dead. Soon she is plunged into the dark world of Victorian London’s supernatural...

Gloom Town

Gloom Town

Publisher Description A delightfully creepy novel from a Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Award winner imbued with magic and seafaring mythology. Lemony Snicket and Jessica Townsend meet Greenglass House, with a hint of Edward Gorey thrown in. When...

Ghost Squad

Ghost Squad

Publisher Description Coco meets Stranger Things with a hint of Ghostbusters in this action-packed supernatural fantasy. For Lucely Luna, ghosts are more than just the family business. Shortly before Halloween, Lucely and her best friend, Syd, cast a spell that...

The Jumbie God’s Revenge

The Jumbie God’s Revenge

Publisher Description In book three of the popular Jumbies series, Corinne must use her emerging supernatural powers to battle the angry god who would destroy her Caribbean island home. When an out-of-season hurricane sweeps through Corinne’s seaside village, Corinne...

Rise of the Jumbies

Rise of the Jumbies

Publisher Description Corinne LaMer defeated the wicked jumbie Severine months ago, but things haven’t exactly gone back to normal in her Caribbean island home. Everyone knows Corinne is half-jumbie, and many of her neighbors treat her with mistrust. When local...

MIGHTY JUSTICE

MIGHTY JUSTICE

Publisher Description A young reader’s adaptation of Mighty Justice: My Life in Civil Rights, the memoir of activist and trailblazer Dovey Johnson Roundtree, by Katie McCabe. Raised in Charlotte, North Carolina, at the height of Jim Crow, Dovey Johnson Roundtree felt...

Harriet Tubman: Conductor of the Underground Railroad

Harriet Tubman: Conductor of the Underground Railroad

Publisher Description This quintessential middle grade biography of Harriet Tubman now features a cover by NAACP Image Award winner and Caldecott Honor illustrator Kadir Nelson, a foreword by National Book Award finalist Jason Reynolds, and additional new material. A...

Class Act

Class Act

Publisher Description New York Times bestselling author Jerry Craft returns with a companion book to New Kid, winner of the 2020 Newbery Medal, the Coretta Scott King Author Award, and the Kirkus Prize. This time, it’s Jordan’s friend Drew who takes center stage in...

Measuring Up

Measuring Up

Publisher Description For fans of American Born Chinese and Roller Girl, Measuring Up is an own voices graphic novel debut from Lily LaMotte and Ann Xu! “A beautiful story about food, family, and finding your place in the world.” —Gene Luen Yang, author of American...

Little Leaders: Bold Women in Black History

Little Leaders: Bold Women in Black History

Publisher Description A NEW YORK TIMES INSTANT BESTSELLER! A USA TODAY BESTSELLER!   This beautifully illustrated New York Times bestseller introduces readers of all ages to 40 women who changed the world. An important book for all ages, Little Leaders educates and...

Little Legends: Exceptional Men in Black History

Little Legends: Exceptional Men in Black History

Publisher Description Author-illustrator Vashti Harrison shines a bold, joyous light on black men through history in this #1 New York Times bestseller. An important book for readers of all ages, this beautifully illustrated and engagingly written volume brings to life...

Little Dreamers: Visionary Women Around the World

Little Dreamers: Visionary Women Around the World

Publisher Description The instant New York Times bestseller!   From the author of Little Leaders: Bold Women in Black History comes the highly anticipated follow-up, a beautifully illustrated collectible detailing the lives of women creators around the world....

Orange for the Sunsets

Orange for the Sunsets

Publisher Description * A Chicago Public Library’s Best of the Best Books of 2019 Selection * A Canadian Children’s Book Center Best Books for Kids & Teens Pick * From debut author Tina Athaide comes a soaring tale of empathy, hope, and resilience, as two best...

The Sweetest Sound

The Sweetest Sound

Publisher Description A story of family, faith, and following your heart For ten-year-old Cadence Jolly, birthdays are a constant reminder of all that has changed since her mother skipped town with dreams of becoming a singing star. Cadence inherited that musical...

President of the Whole Fifth Grade

President of the Whole Fifth Grade

Publisher Description Start counting your votes . . . and your friends. When Brianna Justice's hero, the famous celebrity chef Miss Delicious, speaks at her school and traces her own success back to being president of her fifth grade class, Brianna determines she must...

President of the Whole Sixth Grade: Girl Code

President of the Whole Sixth Grade: Girl Code

Publisher Description Go-getter Brianna Justice is back and on assignment with her local newspaper in this third book in the popular President series! When budding middle school journalist Brianna Justice learns that Yavonka Steele, rising star of the nightly news...