Friendship

The Meet-Cute Project

The Meet-Cute Project

Publisher Description To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before meets Save the Date in this sweet, hijinks-filled rom-com about a teen girl who will do whatever it takes to find a date for her sister’s wedding. Mia’s friends love rom-coms. Mia hates them. They’re silly,...

When You Look Like Us

When You Look Like Us

Publisher Description From debut author Pamela Harris comes a timely, gripping teen novel about a boy who must take up the search for his sister when she goes missing from a neighborhood where black girls’ disappearances are too often overlooked. Perfect for fans of...

Root Magic

Root Magic

Publisher Description “A poignant, necessary entry into the children’s literary canon, Root Magic brings to life the history and culture of Gullah people while highlighting the timeless plight of Black Americans. Add in a fun, magical adventure and you get everything...

Unbroken: 13 Stories Starring Disabled Teens

Unbroken: 13 Stories Starring Disabled Teens

Publisher Description This anthology explores disability in fictional tales told from the viewpoint of disabled characters, written by disabled creators. With stories in various genres about first loves, friendship, war, travel, and more, Unbroken will offer today's...

Once Upon An Eid

Once Upon An Eid

Publisher Description A joyous short story collection by and about Muslims, edited by New York Times bestselling author Aisha Saeed and Morris finalist S. K. Ali Once Upon an Eid is a collection of short stories that showcases the most brilliant Muslim voices writing...

Isaiah Dunn Is My Hero

Isaiah Dunn Is My Hero

Publisher Description A coming-of-age tale about a boy who discovers a love of poetry after finding his late father’s journal. Adapted from a story that first appeared in Flying Lessons & Other Stories and perfect for fans of The Parker Inheritance by Varian...

Ikenga

Ikenga

Publisher Description Nnedi Okorafor’s acclaimed first novel for middle grade readers introduces a boy who can access super powers with the help of the magical Ikenga. Nnamdi’s father was a good chief of police, perhaps the best Kalaria had ever had. He was determined...

Maya and the Rising Dark

Maya and the Rising Dark

Publisher Description In this highly anticipated contemporary fantasy, twelve-year-old Maya’s search for her missing father puts her at the center of a battle between our world, the Orishas, and the mysterious and sinister Dark world. Perfect for fans of Aru Shah and...

Gloom Town

Gloom Town

Publisher Description A delightfully creepy novel from a Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Award winner imbued with magic and seafaring mythology. Lemony Snicket and Jessica Townsend meet Greenglass House, with a hint of Edward Gorey thrown in. When...

The Jumbie God’s Revenge

The Jumbie God’s Revenge

Publisher Description In book three of the popular Jumbies series, Corinne must use her emerging supernatural powers to battle the angry god who would destroy her Caribbean island home. When an out-of-season hurricane sweeps through Corinne’s seaside village, Corinne...

The Jumbies

The Jumbies

Publisher Description Corinne La Mer claims she isn't afraid of anything. Not scorpions, not the boys who tease her, and certainly not jumbies. She knows that jumbies are make-believe characters from Haitian folklore, just something parents use as a way to scare their...

Class Act

Class Act

Publisher Description New York Times bestselling author Jerry Craft returns with a companion book to New Kid, winner of the 2020 Newbery Medal, the Coretta Scott King Author Award, and the Kirkus Prize. This time, it’s Jordan’s friend Drew who takes center stage in...

Measuring Up

Measuring Up

Publisher Description For fans of American Born Chinese and Roller Girl, Measuring Up is an own voices graphic novel debut from Lily LaMotte and Ann Xu! “A beautiful story about food, family, and finding your place in the world.” —Gene Luen Yang, author of American...

Orange for the Sunsets

Orange for the Sunsets

Publisher Description * A Chicago Public Library’s Best of the Best Books of 2019 Selection * A Canadian Children’s Book Center Best Books for Kids & Teens Pick * From debut author Tina Athaide comes a soaring tale of empathy, hope, and resilience, as two best...

President of the Whole Fifth Grade

President of the Whole Fifth Grade

Publisher Description Start counting your votes . . . and your friends. When Brianna Justice's hero, the famous celebrity chef Miss Delicious, speaks at her school and traces her own success back to being president of her fifth grade class, Brianna determines she must...

President of the Whole Sixth Grade

President of the Whole Sixth Grade

Publisher Description In this follow-up to President of the Whole Fifth Grade, Brianna navigates her toughest challenge yet: middle school! Brianna Justice is determined to raise enough money for the big class trip to Washington, D.C., but she’s up against a lot:...

Ancestor Approved: Intertribal Stories For Kids

Ancestor Approved: Intertribal Stories For Kids

Publisher Description Edited by award-winning and bestselling author Cynthia Leitich Smith, this collection of intersecting stories by both new and veteran Native writers bursts with hope, joy, resilience, the strength of community, and Native pride. Native families...

Becoming Vanessa

Becoming Vanessa

Publisher Description For readers of Alma and How She Got Her Name and The King of Kindegarten, this story will help kids just starting school transform from timid caterpillars into beautiful butterflies so they can love who they are.On Vanessa’s first day of school,...

Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up With Me

Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up With Me

Publisher Description One of FORBES Best Graphic Novels of 2019 On BCCB 2019 Blue Ribbons List One of NPR's Best Books of 2019 Booklist 2019 Editors' Choice One of Bitch Media’s Best Queer YA Novels of 2019 Author Mariko Tamaki and illustrator Rosemary...

New Kid

New Kid

Publisher Description Winner of the Newbery Medal, Coretta Scott King Author Award, and Kirkus Prize for Young Readers’ Literature!  Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school...

Stella Diaz Has Something to Say

Stella Diaz Has Something to Say

Publisher Description In her first middle-grade novel, award-winning picture book author and illustrator Angela Dominguez tells a heartwarming story based on her own experiences growing up Mexican-American. Stella Díaz loves marine animals, especially her betta fish,...