Asian/Asian American

Sumo Joe

Sumo Joe

Publisher Description In this sweet and funny story, Sumo Joe and his friends enjoy pretending to be sumo wrestlers. But when his little sister wants to join their boy-only game, what should Sumo Joe do? On Saturday mornings, Sumo Joe is a gentle big brother to his...

Thanking the Moon

Thanking the Moon

Publisher Description This simple, young, and satisfying story follows a Chinese American family as they celebrate the Mid-Autumn Moon Festival. Each member of the family lends a hand as they prepare a moonlit picnic with mooncakes, pomelos, cups of tea, and colorful...

A Big Mooncake for Little Star

A Big Mooncake for Little Star

Publisher Description A gorgeous picture book that tells a whimsical origin story of the phases of the moon, from award-winning, bestselling author-illustrator Grace Lin Pat, pat, pat… Little Star’s soft feet tiptoed to the Big Mooncake. Little Star loves the...

A Morning With Grandpa

A Morning With Grandpa

Publisher Description Mei Mei’s grandpa is practicing tai chi in the garden, and Mei Mei is eager to join in. As Gong Gong tries to teach her the slow, graceful movements, Mei Mei enthusiastically does them with her own flair. Then Mei Mei takes a turn, trying to...

Drawn Together

Drawn Together

Publisher Description This acclaimed picture book from two award-winning creators about connecting across generational and language differences shows that sometimes you don't need words to find common ground. When a young boy visits his grandfather, their lack of a...

Measuring Up

Measuring Up

Publisher Description For fans of American Born Chinese and Roller Girl, Measuring Up is an own voices graphic novel debut from Lily LaMotte and Ann Xu! “A beautiful story about food, family, and finding your place in the world.” —Gene Luen Yang, author of American...

Red, White, and Whole

Red, White, and Whole

Publisher Description A heartbreakingly hopeful #ownvoices novel in verse about an Indian American girl whose life is turned upside down when her mother is diagnosed with leukemia. Reha feels torn between two worlds: school, where she’s the only Indian American...

Loveboat, Taipei

Loveboat, Taipei

Publisher Description A New York Times bestseller! Optioned for film by the producers of Jenny Han’s TO ALL THE BOYS I’VE LOVED BEFORE. Most anticipated novel of 2020: Boston Globe, Book Riot, Bustle, Nerd Daily, Seventeen, She Reads. Praised as “an intense rush of...

Eyes That Kiss in the Corners

Eyes That Kiss in the Corners

Publisher Description This lyrical and stunning picture book tells a story about learning to love and celebrate your Asian-shaped eyes, in the of spirit of Hair Love by Matthew A. Cherry  A young Asian girl notices that her eyes look different from her peers'. They...

Festival of Colors

Festival of Colors

Publishers Description Learn all about Holi, the Indian Festival of Colors, in this lush picture book from bestselling mother/son duo Surishtha Sehgal and Kabir Sehgal. Spring is here, and it’s almost time for Holi, the Indian Festival of Colors. Siblings Mintoo and...

Patron Saints of Nothing

Patron Saints of Nothing

Publisher Description A NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST “Brilliant, honest, and equal parts heartbreaking and soul-healing.” –Laurie Halse Anderson, author of SHOUT “A singular voice in the world of literature.” –Jason Reynolds, author of Long Way Down A powerful...

Front Desk

Front Desk

Publisher Description Mia Tang has a lot of secrets: Number 1: She lives in a motel, not a big house. Every day, while her immigrant parents clean the rooms, ten-year-old Mia manages the front desk of the Calivista Motel and tends to its guests. Number 2: Her parents...

Maya Lin: Architect of Light and Lines

Maya Lin: Architect of Light and Lines

Publisher Description The bold story of Maya Lin, the visionary artist-architect who designed the Vietnam Veterans Memorial. You may be familiar with the iconic Vietnam Veterans Memorial. But do you know about the artist-architect who created this landmark? As a...