Anti-racist

Angel of Greenwood

Angel of Greenwood

Publisher Description Randi Pink's The Angel of Greenwood is a historical YA novel that takes place during the Greenwood Massacre of 1921, in an area of Tulsa, OK, known as the "Black Wall Street."… Seventeen-year-old Isaiah Wilson is, on the surface, a town...

When You Look Like Us

When You Look Like Us

Publisher Description From debut author Pamela Harris comes a timely, gripping teen novel about a boy who must take up the search for his sister when she goes missing from a neighborhood where black girls’ disappearances are too often overlooked. Perfect for fans of...

Light It Up

Light It Up

Publisher Description Told in a series of vignettes from multiple viewpoints, Kekla Magoon's Light It Up is a powerful, layered story about injustice and strength—as well as an incredible follow-up to the highly acclaimed novel How It Went Down. A girl walks home from...

Freedom Soup

Freedom Soup

Publisher Description Join the celebration in the kitchen as a family makes their traditional New Year’s soup — and shares the story of how Haitian independence came to be. The shake-shake of maracas vibrates down to my toes. Ti Gran’s feet tap-tap to the rhythm....

The ABC’s of Black History

The ABC’s of Black History

Publisher Description B is for Beautiful, Brave, and Bright! And for a Book that takes a Bold journey through the alphabet of Black history and culture. Letter by letter, The ABCs of Black History celebrates a story that spans continents and centuries, triumph and...

FRY BREAD: A Native American Family Story

FRY BREAD: A Native American Family Story

Publisher Description Winner of the 2020 Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal A 2020 American Indian Youth Literature Picture Book Honor Winner “A wonderful and sweet book . . . Lovely stuff.” —The New York Times Book Review Told in lively and powerful verse by...

Brown Sugar Babe

Brown Sugar Babe

Publisher Description Brown is beautiful. Brown is powerful! “This is the book I want to give to my future daughter.” —Black Nerd Problems Perfect for fans of Hair Love and Antiracist Baby, this lyrically written, stunningly illustrated picture book is a love letter...

Young, Gifted, and Black

Young, Gifted, and Black

Publisher Description "There are so many things I am and can be... There's a whole world waiting for me."  Introduce your baby to Black excellence with this lyrical board-book edition of Young, Gifted and Black. Includes a mirror at the back so young dreamers can see...

MIGHTY JUSTICE

MIGHTY JUSTICE

Publisher Description A young reader’s adaptation of Mighty Justice: My Life in Civil Rights, the memoir of activist and trailblazer Dovey Johnson Roundtree, by Katie McCabe. Raised in Charlotte, North Carolina, at the height of Jim Crow, Dovey Johnson Roundtree felt...

Mae Among the Stars

Mae Among the Stars

Publisher Description A beautiful picture book for sharing and marking special occasions such as graduation, inspired by the life of the first African American woman to travel in space, Mae Jemison. An Amazon Best Book of the Month! A great classroom and bedtime...

Harriet Tubman: Conductor of the Underground Railroad

Harriet Tubman: Conductor of the Underground Railroad

Publisher Description This quintessential middle grade biography of Harriet Tubman now features a cover by NAACP Image Award winner and Caldecott Honor illustrator Kadir Nelson, a foreword by National Book Award finalist Jason Reynolds, and additional new material. A...

Before She Was Harriet

Before She Was Harriet

Publisher Description An evocative poem and stunning watercolors come together to honor an American heroine in a Coretta Scott King Honor and Christopher Award-winning picture book. We know her today as Harriet Tubman, but in her lifetime she was called by many names....

Unspeakable: The Tulsa Race Massacre

Unspeakable: The Tulsa Race Massacre

Publisher Description Celebrated author Carole Boston Weatherford and illustrator Floyd Cooper provide a powerful look at the Tulsa Race Massacre, one of the worst incidents of racial violence in our nation's history. The book traces the history of African Americans...

Yo Soy Muslim: A Father’s Letter to His Daughter

Yo Soy Muslim: A Father’s Letter to His Daughter

Publisher Description A Huffington Post Most Powerful Children’s Book of 2017 From Muslim and Latino poet Mark Gonzales comes a touching and lyrical picture book about a parent who encourages their child to find joy and pride in all aspects of their multicultural...

We Are Still Here!

We Are Still Here!

Publisher Description Twelve Native American kids present historical and contemporary laws, policies, struggles, and victories in Native life, each with a powerful refrain: We are still here! Too often, Native American history is treated as a finished chapter instead...

We Are Grateful: Otsaliheliga

We Are Grateful: Otsaliheliga

Publisher Description ABOUT WE ARE GRATEFUL: OTSALIHELIGA 2019 Sibert Honor Book 2019 Orbis Pictus Honor Book NPR’s Guide To 2018’s Great Reads 2018 Book Launch Award (SCBWI) Kirkus Reviews Best Books of 2018 School Library Journal Best Books of 2018 2018 JLG...

Little Leaders: Bold Women in Black History

Little Leaders: Bold Women in Black History

Publisher Description A NEW YORK TIMES INSTANT BESTSELLER! A USA TODAY BESTSELLER!   This beautifully illustrated New York Times bestseller introduces readers of all ages to 40 women who changed the world. An important book for all ages, Little Leaders educates and...

Little Legends: Exceptional Men in Black History

Little Legends: Exceptional Men in Black History

Publisher Description Author-illustrator Vashti Harrison shines a bold, joyous light on black men through history in this #1 New York Times bestseller. An important book for readers of all ages, this beautifully illustrated and engagingly written volume brings to life...

Woke Baby

Woke Baby

Publisher Description For all the littlest progressives, waking up to seize a new day of justice and activism. Woke babies are up early. Woke babies raise their fists in the air. Woke babies cry out for justice. Woke babies grow up to change the world. This lyrical...

Antiracist Baby

Antiracist Baby

Publisher Description A #1 New York Times Bestseller! Featured in its own episode in the Netflix original show Bookmarks: Celebrating Black Voices! Featured on Good Morning America, NPR’s Morning Edition, CBS This Morning, and more! From the National Book...

Eyes That Kiss in the Corners

Eyes That Kiss in the Corners

Publisher Description This lyrical and stunning picture book tells a story about learning to love and celebrate your Asian-shaped eyes, in the of spirit of Hair Love by Matthew A. Cherry  A young Asian girl notices that her eyes look different from her peers'. They...