Affirmation

Stella’s Stellar Hair

Stella’s Stellar Hair

Publisher Description Black girl magic takes the solar system in Stella's Stellar Hair, a celebration of hair, family, and self-love from debut author-illustrator Yesenia Moises! It’s the day of the Big Star Little Gala, and Stella's hair just isn't acting right!...

I Am Smart, I Am Blessed, I Can Do Anything!

I Am Smart, I Am Blessed, I Can Do Anything!

Publisher Description Based on a viral video comes the story of one boy’s positive energy and how a sunny outlook can turn everything around. It’s a new day and Ayaan has woken up on the wrong side of the bed, where nothing feels quite right. What if he doesn’t know...

I Am Every Good Thing

I Am Every Good Thing

Publisher Description Winner of the NCTE Charlotte Huck Award! An upbeat, empowering, important picture book from the team that created the award-winning Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut I am a nonstop ball of energy. Powerful and full of light. I am a go-getter. A...

Brown Sugar Babe

Brown Sugar Babe

Publisher Description Brown is beautiful. Brown is powerful! “This is the book I want to give to my future daughter.” —Black Nerd Problems Perfect for fans of Hair Love and Antiracist Baby, this lyrically written, stunningly illustrated picture book is a love letter...

Young, Gifted, and Black

Young, Gifted, and Black

Publisher Description "There are so many things I am and can be... There's a whole world waiting for me."  Introduce your baby to Black excellence with this lyrical board-book edition of Young, Gifted and Black. Includes a mirror at the back so young dreamers can see...

Hair Love

Hair Love

Publisher Description “I love that Hair Love is highlighting the relationship between a Black father and daughter. Matthew leads the ranks of new creatives who are telling unique stories of the Black experience. We need this.” – Jordan Peele, Actor & Filmmaker...

I Am Loved: A Poetry Collection

I Am Loved: A Poetry Collection

Publisher Description Newbery Award honoree Ashley Bryan has hand-selected a dozen of National Book Award winner Nikki Giovanni’s poems to illustrate with his inimitable flourish. There is nothing more important to a child than to feel loved, and this gorgeous...

Kaya’s Heart Song

Kaya’s Heart Song

Publisher Description Kaya is looking for her heart song – the song that happy hearts sing. Her search takes her on a journey deep into the jungle where a broken down carousel waits for a very special song to make it turn again… Grounded in the principles of...

Sulwe

Sulwe

Publisher Description A New York Times bestseller! Featured in its own episode in the Netflix original show Bookmarks: Celebrating Black Voices! Recipient of a Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honor Award Recipient of an NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Children’s...

What Color Is My Hijab?

What Color Is My Hijab?

Publisher Description A children's "learn your colors" book where a Muslim girl chooses what color hijab she'll wear today! Hijab is the crown I wear every day. It is worn many ways, and it comes in every color. What color hijab should I choose today? Yellow, like my...

Yo Soy Muslim: A Father’s Letter to His Daughter

Yo Soy Muslim: A Father’s Letter to His Daughter

Publisher Description A Huffington Post Most Powerful Children’s Book of 2017 From Muslim and Latino poet Mark Gonzales comes a touching and lyrical picture book about a parent who encourages their child to find joy and pride in all aspects of their multicultural...

Whose Toes Are Those?

Whose Toes Are Those?

Publisher Description A vibrant, playful verse that celebrates a beautiful brown baby’s adorable little toes, for fans of Ten Little Fingers and Ten Little Toes. Who do you suppose has such fine toes? So brown and sweet. Who could have such darling feet? Snuggle with...

Whose Knees Are These?

Whose Knees Are These?

Publisher Description A vibrant, playful verse that celebrates a beautiful brown baby’s sweet little knees, for fans of Ten Little Fingers and Ten Little Toes. I’ve searched the world and seven seas. Never have I seen such charming knees. Snuggle with a child on your...

Boy of Mine

Boy of Mine

Publisher Description In this imaginative bedtime companion to Girl of Mine, an adorable little boy plays among the stars before his mommy tucks him in and wishes him sweet dreams. The beautiful starry sky in the illustrations is a tribute to Van Gogh’s “Starry...

Girl of Mine

Girl of Mine

Publisher Description This companion book to Boy of Mine shows a dazzling little girl enjoying playtime in the moon’s soft glow. As daddy cradles his baby girl, she is suddenly whisked away on a fantastical adventure, swinging above lush floral gardens under the...

Homemade Love

Homemade Love

Publisher Description Her Mama calls her Girlpie–a sweet treat, homemade with love. And when Girlpie makes a mistake, the love of her mother and father lets her pick up the pieces and make everything right again. Shane W. Evans’ resplendent artwork teems with...

Of Thee I Sing: A Letter to my Daughters

Of Thee I Sing: A Letter to my Daughters

Publisher Description Barack Obama delivers a tender, beautiful letter to his daughters in this powerful picture book illustrated by award-winner Loren Long that’s made to be treasured! In this poignant letter to his daughters, Barack Obama has written a moving...

Hey There Black Child

Hey There Black Child

Publisher Description Six-time Coretta Scott King Award winner and four-time Caldecott Honor recipient Bryan Collier brings this classic, inspirational poem to life, written by poet Useni Eugene Perkins. Hey Black child, Do you know who you are? Who really are?Do you...

Becoming Vanessa

Becoming Vanessa

Publisher Description For readers of Alma and How She Got Her Name and The King of Kindegarten, this story will help kids just starting school transform from timid caterpillars into beautiful butterflies so they can love who they are.On Vanessa’s first day of school,...

Eyes That Kiss in the Corners

Eyes That Kiss in the Corners

Publisher Description This lyrical and stunning picture book tells a story about learning to love and celebrate your Asian-shaped eyes, in the of spirit of Hair Love by Matthew A. Cherry  A young Asian girl notices that her eyes look different from her peers'. They...

Alma and How She Got Her Name

Alma and How She Got Her Name

Publishers Description A 2019 Caldecott Honor BookWhat’s in a name? For one little girl, her very long name tells the vibrant story of where she came from — and who she may one day be.If you ask her, Alma Sofia Esperanza José Pura Candela has way too many names: six!...

Princess Hair

Princess Hair

Publisher Description Princesses with curls wear pearls. Princesses with head wraps take long naps. And princesses with teeny-weeny Afros wear teeny-weeny bows. Celebrate different hair shapes, textures, and styles in this self-affirming picture book! From dreadlocks...

The Proudest Blue: A Story of Hijab and Family

The Proudest Blue: A Story of Hijab and Family

Publisher Description A powerful, vibrantly illustrated story about the first day of school–and two sisters on one’s first day of hijab–by Olympic medalist and social justice activist Ibtihaj Muhammad. With her new backpack and light-up shoes, Faizah knows the first...

Your Name Is A Song

Your Name Is A Song

Publisher Description Frustrated by a day full of teachers and classmates mispronouncing her beautiful name, a little girl tells her mother she never wants to come back to school. In response, the girl's mother teaches her about the musicality of African, Asian,...

Mommy’s Khimar

Mommy’s Khimar

Publisher Description Selected as a Best Book of 2018 by NPR, Kirkus Reviews, School Library Journal, and Shelf Awareness! A young Muslim girl spends a busy day wrapped up in her mother’s colorful headscarf in this sweet and fanciful picture book from debut author and...